Annual Report for the year ended 30 June 2009
Decrease font size | Increase font size | | |

Executive Directors


Stephen Bradley Saad (45)
(Appointed 1999)

Group Chief Executive
Chairman Transformation Committee


Michael Guy (Gus) Attridge (48)
(Appointed 1999)

Deputy Group Chief Executive
Transformation Committee Member


Non-Executive Directors


Arthur (Archie) Jacob Aaron (77)#
(Appointed 1994)

Formerly a director of Werksmans Inc. Attorneys.
Directorships include non-executive Chairman of Transpaco Ltd.

Roy Cecil Andersen (61)#
(Appointed 2008)

CA(SA), CPA (Texas)
Former Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Ernst & Young, former President of JSE, former Chief Executive Officer of Liberty Group Ltd.
Directorships include Sanlam Ltd, Nampak Ltd and Murray & Roberts Holdings Ltd. Chairman Remuneration & Nomination Committee and Audit & Risk Committee member.

Mogammed Rafique Bagus (46)#
(Appointed 2003)

BA, BA (Hons) (Economics), MA (Economics and Econometrics)
Chief Executive Officer of Ehlobo Group.
Past Chief Executive Officer of Trade and Investment South Africa, a division of the Department of Trade and Industry. Transformation Committee Member.

John Frederick Buchanan (65)#
(Appointed 2002)

Former Group Finance Director of Cadbury Schweppes SA Ltd.
Directorships include Business Connexion Group Ltd. Chairman Audit & Risk Committee and Interim Chairman Remuneration & Nomination Committee.

Company Secretary

Hymie Aaron Shapiro (54)
CA(SA), HDip Tax Law
(Appointed 1999)


Nobuhle Judith (Judy) Dlamini (50)
(Appointed 2005)

Managing Director and Executive Chairman of Mbekani Health & Wellbeing (Pty) Ltd and Chairman of Masibulele Pharmaceuticals. Shareholder and Director of Imithi Investments (Pty) Ltd.
Directorships include Northern Platinum and GijimaAst Ltd.
Transformation Committee Member and Remuneration & Nomination Committee Member.

Christopher (Chris) Nattle Mortimer (49)
(Appointed 1999)

Full-time practising attorney.
Audit & Risk Committee Member*.
*Resigned subsequent to year-end.

David Morris Nurek (59)
(Appointed 2001)

DipLaw, Grad Dip Company Law
Executive of Investec Bank Ltd.
Directorships include Chairman of Clicks Group Ltd, Foschini Ltd, Sun International Ltd, Distell Group Ltd, Lewis Group Ltd and Trencor Ltd.

Sindiswa (Sindi) Victoria Zilwa (42)#
(Appointed 2006)

CA(SA) BCompt (Hons), CTA, Advanced Taxation Certificate, CFP, Advanced Diploma in Financial Planning, Advanced Diploma in Banking.
Chief Executive of Nkonki Chartered Accountants.
Directorships include ACSA Ltd, Discovery Holdings Ltd, Woolworths Holdings
Ltd, STRATE Ltd and Ethos Private Equity Ltd.
Audit & Risk Committee Member and Transformation Committee Member.


Aspen Holdings Senior Executives


Sean Capazorio
Group Finance Officer
(Appointed 1996).

Lorraine Hill
Strategic Business Development and Pharmaceuticals Affairs Executive
(Appointed 1994).


Mohammed Lorgat
Group Chief Risk Officer
(Appointed 1995).

From left: Rafique Bagus, Chris Mortimer, David Nurek, John Buchanan, Sindi Zilwa, Gus Attridge, Stephen Saad, Judy Dlamini, Archie Aaron and Roy Andersen photographed at Aspen’s Sterile Facility in Port Elizabeth

Management strength
Aspen's recorded successes have been as a result of the effective
implementation of carefully considered strategies by a committed team,
which has been most ably directed.
Back to top