Ton Vosloo (73) became managing director of Naspers in 1984, serving as executive chairman from 1992 to 1997. Mr Vosloo worked as a journalist from 1956 to 1983 and as editor of Beeld from 1977 to 1983. He is a director of Media24 and MultiChoice South Africa Holdings, chairman of MIH BV, MIH Holdings and MIH (Mauritius) and independent non-executive chairman of the board of Naspers, a position he has held since 1997. He is a former chairman of Sanlam, M-Net, WWF South Africa and the Cape Philharmonic Orchestra. He was awarded the Nieman Fellowship from Harvard University in 1970. Mr Vosloo has been awarded three honorary doctorates.


RACHEL JAFTA (50), MEcon and PhD, is a professor in economics at Stellenbosch University. She joined Naspers as a director in 2003 and was appointed a director of Media24 in 2007. She is a member of the South African Economic Society, director of Econex, chairperson of the Cape Town Carnival Trust and board member of the South African Institute of Race Relations. She is a member of the audit and risk committees of Naspers and Media24. She was appointed chair of the Media24 audit and risk committees in April 2008.  


  KOOS BEKKER (58) led the founding team of M-Net in 1985. He was also a founding director of MTN. He led the MIH group until 1997, when he became chief executive officer of Naspers. He serves on the boards of other companies in the wider group. He also served on the Local Organising Committee for the 2010 Fifa World Cup, the Council of Stellenbosch University and various bodies. He holds several qualii cations, including BAHons (Stellenbosch), LLB (Wits), MBA (Columbia) and an honorary doctorate.


  JAKES GERWEL (65) joined Naspers as a director in 1999. He is a former director- general in the office of then president Nelson Mandela, and a previous director of the University of the Western Cape. He is chancellor of Rhodes University, distinguished professor in humanities at the University of the Western Cape and honorary professor in humanities at the University of Pretoria. He is non-executive chairman of Aurecon, Brimstone Investment Corporation, Life Healthcare and Media24. He chairs the boards of trustees of the Nelson Mandela Foundation, Mandela Rhodes Foundation, Allan Gray Orbis Foundation and is vice chairman of the Peace Parks Foundation. He is a member of the executive, human resources and remuneration and nomination committees of Media24 and Naspers.


DEBRA MEYER (43) was appointed a director in 2009. Currently professor of biochemistry at the University of Pretoria, she holds a PhD in biochemistry and molecular biology from UC Davis (University of California). She writes for scientific journals and contributes to several newspapers and magazines. She is a published poet, has won several awards in her field of expertise and was recognised by Rapport and City Press in 2007 as one of ten nominated for their Prestigious Women Awards. She is involved in social issues, particularly HIV/Aids, and serves as trustee or board member of various organisations.  


  STEVE PACAK (56), a qualified CA(SA), began his career with Naspers as group financial manager of M-Net in 1988 and held various executive positions in the MIH group. He is a director of Media24, MIH BV, MIH (Mauritius), MIH Holdings, group. He was appointed an executive director of Naspers in 1998.